Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

I�m leaving on a jet plane� - 16 October 2006
Hit me with your best shot... - 06 March 2006
Ticking away the moments that make up a dull day... - 16 February 2006
Christmas Eve/Sarajevo 12/24 - 02 December 2005
There's no place I can be Since I found Serenity - 30 September 2005

There's no place I can be Since I found Serenity

30 September 2005 - 11:28 am

Well, it�s been about a months since I have added to my journal and much has happened. It started with the male approximation of child birth, kidney stones. If you are looking for a diet to go on, this is NOT the one to do so, but I did drop 10lbs and it�s been staying off. Guess my stomach shrunk some, as food was not high on the list at that time. However, this epic caused me to miss a Rogain race that Mongol Herder and I had been looking forward to doing in Blacksburg. Needless to say, we were both bummed about it. And no, it�s not a race of people who lost hair, looking to grow more.

Next in line was my father�s house catching on fire. I�m at the end of the first week of the kidney stones (It lasted about 2 � weeks, fortunately the first week was the worst) with Stryke over visiting when my dad calls me. He was heading to the Maryland/Navy game when he got a call from his daughter-in-law that his house (which is right across the street) was on fire. Fortunately no one was in the house and only one of their two cats died from the smoke. The house was built back in the 1920�s or 1930�s and had the old plaster walls, which is what saved their house. The fire started in the basement and looks to have been caused by a power supply in a sewing machine that caught fire. The Fire Marshal said if it was one of the new houses that are built (like the ones up in Clarksburg); he would have been watching the house burn from the front lawn, as there would have been nothing that they could have done. They were VERY lucky, as the house is still intact. My dad lost most of his airplane stuff that was in the room and my stepmother lost her sewing stuff. The house suffered smoke and water damage, but is in good shape. Things will have to be cleaned and some things replaced, but they will be able to move back in, in about six months.

If you have had Young Ones, like the Little One�s, then you may have experienced a problem with lice. Mongol Herder called me saying she found lice on EM�s head, and to check Dancer, as the two had been sleeping over together much lately. Yep, we found them on Dancer�s head and checked the Little One�s also, but not finding anything. Dancer got the treatment that night (hair washed and combed out with a special comb, and bed stripped, with pillows and other non-washables put into trash bags to sit for two to three weeks) and the Little One�s were to follow the next night. Well, the next day, while I was at a conference, I got a call from the day care to come and pick up the Little One�s, as they had lice. I got them when I got out of the conference (which was downtown), took them home and started their treatment. Also, many thanks to Mongol Herder, for coming over to help giving them baths, while EM was at ballet. Yes, I am capable of giving them baths, but the hard part is getting them to sit still while combing and going through their hair, trying to get all the lice and nits out. We found that giving them bribes with gummy bear�s works wonders. The crisis is still going on at day care, with the kids getting checked before they go in. There have been a few times when Deer and I have had to take one or both out and go back through their hair to get nits out, but lately its been good (except for this morning. Taz had put her head down on her toaster strudel and got icing in her hair. I tried to brush, and then pull it out, but missed some. I told the person checking her hair this morning what she did, but no, she said they were nits. ARRGGGGG!!!!! I went outside and cleaned her hair some more and all was well). So, I hope this Chinese fire drill will end soon, so we don�t have to be doing laundry from daycare as soon as we get home (as a precaution).
Now, on to some good stuff! I had been wanting to get my gauntlets fixed for a while now. Last time I fought in them I tore them up badly, so badly the really needed to be repaired. On Wednesday I headed over to Roland�s to do this. It has been a long time since see him and Theo and felt very good to see and talk to them. I�m looking forward to Crusades and seeing them and more old friends that have long been missed.

Last but not least, today is a day I have been waiting for since it was announced that Firefly was going to be made into a move! Yes, today is its release, and soon after getting out of work, I�m planning on heading over to a theater to see it.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!